North Macedonia Abbreviations

MKD is the abbreviation for North Macedonia, the 145th largest country in the world. Officially the Republic of North Macedonia, North Macedonia is a country located in Balkans, bordering 5 countries – Albania, Bulgaria, Greece, Kosovo, and Serbia. Skopje is the capital city of North Macedonia. Major cities include Skopje (population: 474,878), Bitola (population: 86,517), Kumanovo (population: 76,264), Prilep (population: 73,803), Tetovo (population: 72,933), Čair (population: 64,762), Kisela Voda (population: 58,205), Veles (population: 57,862), Ohrid (population: 54,897), and Gostivar (population: 50,963).

Country Profile

  • Capital: Skopje
  • Language: Macedonian
  • Area: 25,713 km2
  • Population: 2,103,710
  • Currency: Macedonian denar (MKD)
  • Time zone: UTC+1
  • Calling code: 389
  • ISO 2-Letter Abbreviation: MK
  • UN 3-Letter Abbreviation: MKD
  • Internet TLD: .mk
  • State Government Website:

Map of North Macedonia

List of North Macedonia Acronyms

The most commonly used abbreviations about North Macedonia are MK which stands for North Macedonia and MKD which means Macedonia Denar (North Macedonia currency). In the following table, you can see all acronyms related to North Macedonia, including abbreviations for airport, city, school, port, government, and etc.

MKD: Macedonia   Denar (currency code)

Abbreviation Archives