Russia Abbreviations

RU is the abbreviation for Russia, the 1st largest country in the world. Officially the Russian Federation, Russia is a country located in Eastern Europe and North Asia, bordering 14 countries – Azerbaijan, Belarus, China, Estonia, Finland, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Latvia, Lithuania, Mongolia, North Korea, Norway, Poland, and Ukraine. Moscow is the capital city of Russia. Major cities include Moscow (population: 10,381,211), St Petersburg (population: 5,027,989), Novosibirsk (population: 1,418,996), Yekaterinburg (population: 1,349,761), Nizhny Novgorod (population: 1,284,153), Samara (population: 1,134,719), Omsk (population: 1,129,270), Kazan (population: 1,104,727), Rostov-on-Don (population: 1,074,471), and Chelyabinsk (population: 1,062,908).

Country Profile

  • Capital: Moscow
  • Language: Russian
  • Area: 17,098,246 km2
  • Population: 146,793,733
  • Currency: Russian ruble (RUB)
  • Time zone: UTC+2 to UTC+12
  • Calling code: 7
  • ISO 2-Letter Abbreviation: RU
  • UN 3-Letter Abbreviation: RUS
  • Internet TLD: .ru
  • State Government Website:

Map of Russia

List of Russia Acronyms

The most commonly used abbreviations about Russia are RU which stands for Russia and RUB which means Russian ruble (Russia currency). In the following table, you can see all acronyms related to Russia, including abbreviations for airport, city, school, port, government, and etc.

RU: Russia

Abbreviation Archives