Malaysia Abbreviations

MY is the abbreviation for Malaysia, the 66th largest country in the world. Malaysia is a country located in Asia, bordering 3 countries – Indonesia, Singapore, and Vietnam. Kuala Lumpur is the capital city of Malaysia. Major cities include Kota Bharu (population: 1,459,983), Kuala Lumpur (population: 1,453,964), Klang (population: 879,856), Kampung Baru Subang (population: 833,560), Johor Bahru (population: 802,478), Ipoh (population: 673,307), Kuching (population: 570,396), Petaling Jaya (population: 520,687), Shah Alam (population: 481,643), and Kota Kinabalu (population: 457,315).

Country Profile

  • Capital: Kuala Lumpur
  • Language: Malaysian
  • Area: 330,803 km2
  • Population: 32,049,689
  • Currency: Ringgit (RM) (MYR)
  • Time zone: UTC+8
  • Calling code: 60
  • ISO 2-Letter Abbreviation: MY
  • UN 3-Letter Abbreviation: MYS
  • Internet TLD: .my
  • State Government Website:

Map of Malaysia

List of Malaysia Acronyms

The most commonly used abbreviations about Malaysia are MY which stands for Malaysia and MYR which means Ringgit (Malaysia currency). In the following table, you can see all acronyms related to Malaysia, including abbreviations for airport, city, school, port, government, and etc.

MY: Malaysia

Abbreviation Archives