Niger Abbreviations

NE is the abbreviation for Niger, the 21st largest country in the world. Officially the Republic of the Niger, Niger is a country located in West Africa, bordering 7 countries – Algeria, Benin, Burkina Faso, Chad, Libya, Mali, and Nigeria. Niamey is the capital city of Niger. Major cities include Niamey (population: 774,224), Zinder (population: 191,413), Maradi (population: 163,476), Agadez (population: 124,313), Alaghsas (population: 88,550), Tahoua (population: 80,414), Dosso (population: 49,739), Birni N Konni (population: 48,092), Tessaoua (population: 35,764), and Gaya (population: 33,040).

Country Profile

  • Capital: Niamey
  • Language: French
  • Area: 1,267,000 km2
  • Population: 20,672,976
  • Currency: West African CFA franc (XOF)
  • Time zone: UTC+1
  • Calling code: 227
  • ISO 2-Letter Abbreviation: NE
  • UN 3-Letter Abbreviation: NER
  • Internet TLD: .ne
  • State Government Website:

Map of Niger

List of Niger Acronyms

The most commonly used abbreviations about Niger are NE which stands for Niger and XOF which means West African CFA franc (Niger currency). In the following table, you can see all acronyms related to Niger, including abbreviations for airport, city, school, port, government, and etc.

NE: Niger

Abbreviation Archives