Nigeria Abbreviations

NG is the abbreviation for Nigeria, the 32nd largest country in the world. Officially the Federal Republic of Nigeria, Nigeria is a country located in West Africa, bordering 4 countries – Benin, Cameroon, Chad, and Niger. Abuja is the capital city of Nigeria. Major cities include Lagos (population: 8,999,989), Kano (population: 3,626,057), Ibadan (population: 3,565,097), Kaduna (population: 1,582,091), Port Harcourt (population: 1,148,654), Benin City (population: 1,125,047), Maiduguri (population: 1,112,438), Zaria (population: 975,142), Aba (population: 897,549), and Jos (population: 816,813).

Country Profile

  • Capital: Abuja
  • Language: English
  • Area: 923,768 km2
  • Population: 200,962,408
  • Currency: Naira (₦) (NGN)
  • Time zone: UTC+01
  • Calling code: 234
  • ISO 2-Letter Abbreviation: NG
  • UN 3-Letter Abbreviation: NGA
  • Internet TLD: .ng
  • State Government Website:

Map of Nigeria

List of Nigeria Acronyms

The most commonly used abbreviations about Nigeria are NG which stands for Nigeria and NGN which means Naira (Nigeria currency). In the following table, you can see all acronyms related to Nigeria, including abbreviations for airport, city, school, port, government, and etc.

NG: Nigeria

Abbreviation Archives