Guinea-Bissau Abbreviations

GW is the abbreviation for Guinea-Bissau, the 134th largest country in the world. Officially the Republic of Guinea-Bissau, Guinea-Bissau is a country located in West Africa, bordering 2 countries – Guinea and Senegal. Bissau is the capital city of Guinea-Bissau. Top 10 biggest cities are Bissau (population: 388,017), Bafatá (population: 22,510), Gabú (population: 14,419), Bissorã (population: 12,677), Bolama (population: 10,758), Cacheu (population: 10,479), Catió (population: 9,887), Bubaque (population: 9,233), Mansôa (population: 7,810), and Buba (population: 7,768).

Country Profile

  • Capital: Bissau
  • Language: Portuguese
  • Area: 36,125 km2
  • Population: 1,815,687
  • Currency: West African CFA franc (XOF)
  • Time zone: UTC+0
  • Calling code: 245
  • ISO 2-Letter Abbreviation: GW
  • UN 3-Letter Abbreviation: GNB
  • Internet TLD: .gw
  • State Government Website:

Map of Guinea-Bissau

List of Guinea-Bissau Acronyms

The most commonly used abbreviations about Guinea-Bissau are GW which stands for Guinea-Bissau and XOF which means West African CFA franc (Guinea-Bissau currency). In the following table, you can see all acronyms related to Guinea-Bissau, including abbreviations for airport, city, school, port, government, and etc.

GW: Guinea-Bissau

Abbreviation Meaning
GWP Guinea-Bissau Peso
PU Guinea-Bissau
OXB Bissau, Guinea-Bissau – Osvaldo Vieira
GW Guinea-Bissau
GNB Guinea-Bissau


Abbreviation Archives