We operate SEM and have to pay attention to SEO, impressions and the CPM, among other things. You only understand train station? Then now is the time to explain important online marketing terms to you in more detail!
SEM stands for Search Engine Marketing. The aim here is to use SEO and SEA (described in more detail below) to get to the top of the Google rankings. Those who comply with all the requirements here are more likely to appear on the first page of Google search results than someone who does not value SEM. By the way, such a page with the search results from Google is called SERP. This is nothing but the acronym for Search Engine Result Page.
SEA is one of the components of SEM and stands for Search Engine Advertisement, i.e. search engine advertising . Very simply put, these are the top results of a Google search, marked with the word "Advertisement". These ads are called Google Ads and the advertiser pays for every click someone makes on the ad.
SEO stands for Search Engine Optimization. This search engine optimization is there to appear as high as possible in Google results. There are various rules to be observed, and if you ignore them, you will slip further and further down the rankings. In the case of a SERP, the results listed below Google Ads are affected. You don't pay for these ads, even if someone clicks on them. These search results are also called natural hits or organic hits.
If a user visits a website, this is a page impression. If the user clicks through the website and has finally visited ten pages, that would also be ten page impressions (also called PI). Page impressions are page views that the user causes when accessing a page. Such page views are very important when analyzing website data, because they can be used to evaluate how often a website has been clicked on or how popular it is. By the way: So-called visits indicate how many users have visited a page. Impressions without a connection to visits are therefore not sufficient to be able to evaluate data correctly.
Let's get back to ads. Ad impressions can be used to determine how often an ad has appeared on users' screens. These ad impressions show how many times an ad was placed. However, it is also important to ensure that ads can be shown to the same user several times. Just because you have 1,000 ad impressions doesn't mean that 1,000 different users have seen the ad. In addition, ad impressions are not optimal for evaluating data, since it is not about clicks, but only about the appearance of an ad. Incidentally, Ad Views are the purchasable variant of Ad Impressions, but they have the same function.
CPC stands for Cost per Click, i.e. costs per click. So as soon as someone clicks on an advertisement or similar online (e.g. banner or link), the advertiser pays a certain amount. That means you only have to pay for the ad if someone actually clicks on it. The same applies to the abbreviation CPV,which stands for cost per visit. The difference is this: clicks and visits are not the same! A simple example here is people who click on a link (the CPC is generated) but then immediately click away for reasons (because they chose the wrong page, for example). As a result, the clicked page cannot be loaded quickly enough and the CPV does not take place. Another example is when the user visits the same website several times within a certain period of time (usually 30 minutes). Then the various clicks are counted, but the visit counts as a single one. This then z. B. three clicks but only one visit.
The thousand contact price (TCP for short) is on the one hand a calculation method to find out what amount is necessary for an online advertising placement in order to reach 1,000 people via visual contact or even to get them to visit the page with one click. On the other hand, the CPM can also be approached the other way around, as is done by many advertising platforms on the Internet that sell advertising. They offer 1,000 contacts at a price x and this price is then the CPM. That means you don't have to calculate the price yourself, but it is written out like normal product prices. If you now want to reach 10,000 contacts, you multiply price x by this amount. The thousand contact price is not only available online, but also on television and in print.